Becoming a Modern University

If you choose to come and study at the University of Malawi, you will be joining the institution at a historical moment, when it is becoming a standalone university, having shed off the other colleges that it was previously affiliated with under the banner of a single university.

0 + Students

0 Departments

0 Schools

0 Research Centres

University of the Year 2022/2023

Ranked number 1 in Malawi and in the top 6.8% out of 20,000 universities
in the world by Centre for World University Rankings 2023

See our achievements

Take a virtual tour of our campus

Engage in the life of a UNIMA student and familiarize yourself
with our campuses without leaving your home through our immersive virtual tour experience.

Take a virtual tour

Established in 1964

The University of Malawi - the mother university in Malawi - was founded in 1964. Teaching started on 29th September 1965 at the newly established campus which used to be an Asian Secondary School in Blantyre. Only 90 students were enrolled.

Old constituent colleges

By 1967, the then Institute of Public Administration at Mpemba, the Soche Hill College of Education, the Polytechnic, all these in Blantyre, and Bunda College of Agriculture in Lilongwe were incorporated as constituent colleges of the University of Malawi. Except Bunda College and the Polytechnic, the other colleges moved to Zomba in 1973 to form the University of Malawi campus.
Kamuzu College of Nursing became the fourth constituent college in September 1979. In 1991 the College of Medicine was established in Blantyre as the fifth constituent college of the University of Malawi

Visit Us

University of Malawi is located in Zomba, the old capital city of Malawi. It is about 2km from Zomba's main trading centre at a location called Chirunga. Getting to University of Malawi is simple, apart from driving yourself you can use any of the modes below.

  • Walking or driving - see map
  • Taxi from Zomba town
  • Hired Bicycles (Kabaza) from town
University of Malawi Shield     University of Malawi Shield

Explore more about UNIMA

Campus Developments

Over the past years, we’ve invested more in developing our campuse spanning from teaching, learning and office space. Find our more about our latest campus developments and plans.

UNIMA and the community

Our objective is to create valuable impacts within the community by sharing expertise, fostering collaborations, and cultivating opportunities on a local, national, and global scale.